Synthetic Snake Oil: Online Security Tips

DP80 Do not uninstall old apps - Delete the account also

March 4, 2020

Are you the type of person who has a smartphone crammed with various apps that you don’t use? Or are you the kind of person who will delete apps after you’ve grown bored of them?

 

Whatever the case is, I bet when it comes to delete those ancient apps that all you do is move the icon to the trash or tap on the x in the corner and purge it from your memory. But for right now, I want you to go back and think back to those apps you deleted. Because how you deleted those apps was all wrong.

 

In many cases with apps, you have likely left an entire account on there: an email address, and maybe a connection to your Google or Facebook account and even a date of birth. Personal data that can be easily taken even though you have removed the app.

 

The reality is that whenever we decide to remove apps from either our phone or computer, there is still data lingering. Yes, whenever you delete apps you are removing all the data you had on that app and it won’t collect any more. However the data that was used to give you access is still on a virtual cloud collecting dust somewhere.

 

In cases where no login data is needed or other personal information, you’re safe to delete it with no worries.

 

However not all apps are like that. They want date of birth, locations, details to various questions and potentially more. The thing is though that app developers will keep that information unless you tell them to delete it. Why they do this is obvious. Apps are all about gathering information so they can provide convenient functions for you.

 

So why they hold onto your data after deleting the app isn’t for malicious reasons. What their true intentions are stems from revenue. As you know, app developers can make money by selling the information to various advertisers which in turn will target you with various adds. All of this stuff is outlined in apps privacy policies, though they mention it in the most roundabout way.

 

And so if you decide to only delete the app, the app developers can still sell that information in the event that you needed personal info in order to use their app. I don’t know about you, but that’s more than enough reason to let them know you want your account details removed when you go to delete an app.

Podbean App

Play this podcast on Podbean App